Natural Hazard Mitigation Plans

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Natural Hazards Mitigation Plans

The purpose of a Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan (NHMP) is to identify the types of natural hazards that impact a jurisdiction, to assess each jurisdiction’s vulnerability to those hazards, and to formulate mitigation strategies that will lessen the severity of natural disasters by protecting human life and property.  Every five (5) years, plans must be reviewed and updated to remain active.  In order to receive federal funding for pre-disaster mitigation funds, counties must have an adopted and approved Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan (NHMP).

Five-County NHMP Approved by FEMA

North Central Illinois Council of Governments (NCICG) is pleased to announce that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved the 2015 Bureau, LaSalle, Marshall, Putnam, and Stark Counties Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan (NHMP).  The plan was reviewed based on the local plan criteria contained in 44 CFR Part 201, as authorized by the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000.  FEMA determined the plan met requirements for a local hazard mitigation plan.

The plan is active until October 30, 2020.  Communities that participated in the plan’s development must adopt the plan by resolution to receive the benefits of the plan.

Please contact 815-433-5830 or email for information on the adoption process.

2015 NHMP Final Cover

2015 NHMP Final Inside Cover

2015 NHMP Final Table of Contents

2015 NHMP Final Executive Summary

2015 NHMP Final Chapter 1 Introduction

2015 NHMP Final Chapter 2 Hazard Profiles

2015 NHMP Final Chapter 3 Vulnerability Assessment

2015 NHMP Final Chapter 4 Preventative Measures

2015 NHMP Final Chapter 5 Property Protection

2015 NHMP Final Chapter 6 Flood Control

2015 NHMP Final Chapter 7 Emergency Management

2015 NHMP Final Chapter 8 Public Info

2015 NHMP Final Chapter 9 Goals